I wish

If you could have three wishes what would they be?

Would you go for what everyone wants to hear? Unbroken family? A cure for cancer? Or even world peace? Or would you say what you’re really thinking? Unlimited money? Success at everything you try to do? Fame? Maybe the first three are truly what you want, I don’t know. Only you do.

I can never actually come up with my three wishes. They are always changing. One day I want everyone to agree on everything, the next I want to shop at H&M with no budget. Heck, more often than not I just want a chocolate bar.

But today, right now? I have only one wish.

I wish that I will never stop dreaming.

Asleep or awake? Both.

I wish that no matter where life takes me, no matter what path I’m on or what people tell me, that I will never stop dreaming.

Too often do I talk to people who are older than me that have just given up.

They stopped dreaming. Stop having plans, goals, wishes.

I hope I never get to that point.

When someone asks me what I want to do with my life, I tell them all the same thing, I want to write and act. They respond with something along the lines of “Oh that’s so fun!” or “I used to act when I was in high school” or the ever so popular “Well what are you going to do for a living?”

Honestly, I don’t know. Looking at this logically, I have absolutely no job security.

And I don’t care.

I still have dreams. I will chase them no matter how often I hear it’s useless.

This is not a blog post trying to convince people to always chase your dreams or aim high, as cliche as it is, that is still true. But in reality i am not telling you to chase your dreams. Do whatever you want.

But if I had a wish, it would be that we wouldn’t stop dreaming.

There’s a difference.

I don’t care what you do but I do care if you, or me because I cant control you, stop being you. I don’t want our society… our world, our…. need to please or even our preplanned life (you know, high school, college, desk job, promotion yadayada) to control the way we… dream.

When you wake up in the morning, what do you remember? Do you think of the events of the day before?

My favorite mornings are the mornings when I recall everything I dreamed the night before. Whether I save preschoolers from monsters, had an epic romance or forgot my cheese on my ham and cheese sandwich, I absolutely love reliving my dreams. I hope that’s how my life goes.

I hope I get to relive my dreams, because well, I wouldn’t want anything else.

That is all I wish for.

 

One thought on “I wish

Leave a Reply

