Daddy

dadSo I just want to take a moment and talk about the most important man in the world to me.

My Daddy.

I know it’s been said before, but I’m going to say it again, Dad’s are extremely important to their children, especially their daughters. I’ve been blessed enough to have the best daddy in the entire world. I seriously cannot imagine my life without him. Where would I be? Who would I be? I don’t know but I know I would not be who I am without him. I hear my friends talk about their fathers, and their relationships with them or lack there of. Most don’t have good relationships with their dads, some don’t even know who their dad is.

And that breaks my heart.

My dad is the most important person in my life. Both my parents are really; I seriously have the best parents I could ever ask for. But I am a Daddy’s girl, and moms can be as amazing as it gets (which my mom is) but there is no denying the fact that fathers just have a peculiar effect on their daughter’s life. No one can take the position of a father. The relationship between a father and a daughter may be one of the most interesting, intimate and important things on this earth.

I don’t know what it is like to not have a dad, but I imagine it to be a terrible, terrible thing.

When talking to God, or getting advice from him, or imagining Him laugh at my complete and utter awkwardness, His voice always sounds similar to my dad’s.

But what if your dad doesn’t have a voice? Or what if your dad has a negative voice? Does that reflect in your relationship with God like a loving father does?

I don’t want to get philosophical, because I don’t know what I am talking about well enough, but I do know my own experience.

My dad has taught me so much. He has taught me who God is and who He should be in my life. He has set a standard for future men (a standard probably too high) and taught me how I should be treated. He has taught me what a good sense of humor is (my mom may disagree). He has taught me how to burp well, (again, sorry, Mommy). He has taught me… and is still teaching me sarcasm and when I’ve gone to far. He has taught me math and failed to teach me geography. He has taught me that tithing and daily times alone with God are extremely important. He has taught me to listen and obey, even if I don’t always succeed. He has taught me to never give up. He has taught me who I am and what I deserve. He has taught me that I am amazing and I am loved.

And I don’t know what I would do without him.

Yesterday was my birthday and every year on our birthdays our Daddy takes us on a date, to show us how we should be treated, to make us feel loved, and to just spend alone time with us. It’s always been my favorite part about my birthday. Daddy dates are the best.

Now this year was going to be my first one away from home and I was extremely sad about this, but on Tuesday as I walked out of Abby’s dorm, I saw him across the street leaning against his fancy car.

I’m tearing up writing this.

My daddy, whom I love more than anything, drove five hours, one way, to take me out for our date.

How did I get so lucky?

That night I fell asleep thanking God and thinking about how much my dad must love me, and these words rang in my ears:

“If your earthly father loves you this much, how much do I love you? If he sacrificed time to be with you, how much more have I sacrificed?”

Reminders like these are what this is all about. How much more does our Father in Heaven love us? What has He given to be with us? Just think about that and thank Him for all He has done.

Thank you, God. I don’t deserve this and yet you want to do it. Thank you.

Thank you Daddy. Both of you.

2 thoughts on “Daddy

Leave a Reply

