Dear pet,

Cat personI don’t know if you realize how much I actually love you. I mean, you probably get it, seeing as I hold you hostage for cuddles daily and will gladly pet you whenever you want it. But still, you’re not human (shocker, right?) so I don’t know for certain you feel the same love that us homo-sapiens do. I know you love me, I mean, let’s be honest, I’m the best owner ever (except that one time I forgot to feed you… sorry about that again) but do you really get it?

Pet, you bring me a kind of joy no other human ever could. You’re more loyal and your love is more unconditional than most humans (you won’t care if I say something awful because you can’t understand me… or can you? Dude that would be so cool. Can you understand this? What if I could talk to animals… that would be awesome!)

ANYWAYS. I just wanted to say thank you. Thank you for being there for me when I’m sad. Thank you for not asking questions or prying into my life. Thank you for cuddling up next to me on lazy Sunday mornings or movie nights. Thank you for playing with me when I’m feeling antisocial but don’t want to be alone. Thank you for letting me pet you. It’s relaxing for both of us. Thank you for not holding grudges or feeling neglected when I forget to feed or take care of you. Thank you for calming me down and bringing me such a simple, fulfilling joy.

Dear pet, adopting you was the best thing I could have done.

Love,

Your human.

Leave a Reply

