Dear Mom,

11990581_10205168698563848_3433530527862273560_nRemember when I went through that whole stage where pretty much anything you did was stupid? I didn’t want to dance in the kitchen with you or make cookies or jump on the trampoline? Yeah, I’m really sorry about that. If I could go back and answer, “Do you want to put on some music and bake with me?” with “HECK YES, MOMMY!” I totally would.

For a while there I took you extremely for granted, and I still do even though I don’t want to. Sure, some things come with growing up but I hit fast-forward when I should have hit pause. I’m sorry for rolling my eyes. I’m sorry for ignoring your simple questions or not putting away that last dish. I’m sorry I forgot for a little bit that you’re my best friend.

You’re my everything. I love you so much. You are my best friend and I can come to you about anything and everything.

Dear mom, I love you a lot. Thank you for not giving up on me. Thank you for putting up with my stubbornness and sassiness. Thank you for listening to me cry. Thank you for laughing with me. Thank you for listening to me when something you did or said hurt me and actually apologizing, something a lot of parents refuse to do. Thank you for telling me that boy was bad news but letting me make my own mistake. Thank you for doing my laundry until way past I was capable of doing it. Thank you for taking me on adventures and thank you for helping me find my passions. Thank you for encouraging me to pursue my dreams. Thank you for letting me go off and discover the world myself. Thank you for crying when I walked out the front door. Thank you for making it obvious how loved I am.

Dear Mom, you mean so much to me and I forget how lucky I am every single day.

Dear Mom, all those silly fights were dumb but made our relationship so much stronger.

Dear Mom, thank you for showing me what a real woman is like.

Dear Mom, thank you for being my Mommy.

Love,

Daughter

2 thoughts on “Dear Mom,

Leave a Reply

