My Rating.

12801360_10209099823796802_6523162770977584899_n“I have a question.” Shoot. “Do you censor yourself? On your blog? I was reading your most recent one and was thinking about it. There must be things you don’t feel like you can share online. So… do you censor yourself?”

I hadn’t thought about that until one of my close friends sent me this text. I thought I was really open on this blog. Vulnerable, to use the word that is probably going to be engraved on my tombstone. But she was right. I do censor myself.

There are so many parts of my life I don’t share. I don’t want to share it. I don’t feel comfortable sharing it. I already get flack about the things I say and the topics I choose to write about. If I didn’t heavily censor myself, I’m afraid of the backlash I would receive.

Our world is a world full of censorship. We like to believe it isn’t. We like to believe we are one of the most progressive generations. We are accepting of everyone, no matter age, race, sexuality, gender or religion. We are taking away the necessity of censorship. Kids are allowed to see anything, because the real world isn’t censored, right? I once went to a slam poetry event and the host welcomed us by saying children are welcome but not encouraged unless “you’re raising your kids f*cking right!” Cue cheers.

Censorship is a thing of the past. We don’t need it anymore, because we are so progressive and accepting. Sexuality isn’t something that needs to be hidden. Cuss words are just words. Religion doesn’t create violence. The world is a bad place, why try and make it look good? These ideas are extremely popular now-a-days, and it seems like such a good idea until your Utopia becomes the next best selling dystopian novel.

Despite what you might think, everyone doesn’t think the same way you do. Where you may see nothing but good, someone else might be offended. We have to keep others in mind. Yes, you do you and don’t let other people tell you who you have to be, but that means you can’t tell them who they have to be. Cussing may just be something they aren’t comfortable with. That’s okay. When you’re around that person, just dial it back. Censor yourself, for their sake.

You may be fine with drinking, but would you chug a beer while hanging out with your alcoholic friend?

Sometimes censorship is good, healthy. There’s a fine line between watching out for others and changing who you are to appease others, but by trying to avoid the latter, we are completely ignoring the former. I don’t know where that line is, and I can’t draw it for anyone, but at least I know it’s there. Somewhere.

Some things I censor that I wish I didn’t have to. In fact, those things are selfish censorship. I’m uncomfortable with sharing. It’s not for anyone else’s comfort but my own. And once I become comfortable with it, I’ll share. And my blog will be a little less censored, but until then, I’ll lie and say it’s for the readers.

Being considerate to how someone else censors their world, doesn’t mean you have to change who you are.

So yeah, I censor myself on here. Maybe too much. One day I’ll probably say screw it, and slap an “R” rating on the front of my blog, but until then I’m going to keep my “PG-13” rating flying high so my readers aren’t too uncomfortable. Somewhat uncomfortable, of course, I wouldn’t be me if no one was uncomfortable, but some censorship is needed.

My grandparents read my blog, for goodness sake. (I love you guys!)

It’s your right to choose your rating, just make sure you add a warning for your fellow humans.

One thought on “My Rating.

Leave a Reply

