Top 5 FAVE books

Choosing my top five favorite books is nearly impossible, but I’ll try (in no particular order).

Red White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

Casey McQuiston perfected a witty, awkward, beautiful, sexy, and tropey romance novel with Red White & Royal Blue. This book is a celebration of and for all people have felt out of place, like they didn’t fit in, and had to work to carve out a space for them to be who they are.

Favorite quote: History, huh? Bet we could make some.

All Sarah J Maas books, although for the sake of this exercise, I’ll go with either A Court of Mist and Fury or Empire of Storms.

If you’ve ever read an SJM book, then you know why two of them are included on my top favorites list. Maas is an expert at building high fantasy worlds, complicated relationships, brilliant characters, and slow-burn relationships. There’s a reason she’s one of the most popular authors on booktok/bookstagram and I, for one, don’t think her novels are overrated.

ACOMAF favorite quote: To the stars who listen— and the dreams that are answered.

Know My Name by Chanel Miller

This book was amazing, awful, beautiful, and heartbreaking. This is the BEST book I’ve ever read. And the most difficult. Miller’s writing is arresting, gripping, and poetic. If I could give everyone a copy of Know My Name, I would and I’d say, “Sit down and ingest these words. Take your time. Process it. Consume it. Feel it.”

Favorite quote: This book does not have a happy ending. The happy part is there is no ending, because I’ll always find a way to keep going.

Into the Drowning Deep by Mira Grant 

Into The Drowning Deep is an interesting terror tale that vividly spills multi-dimensional characters towards a certain doom where they must rely only on the deadly sea and each other to survive. It’s eerily haunting and has a tangible atmosphere that enveloped me the entire time I was reading.

Favorite quote: As long as there was life in the sea, there would be teeth.

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

It Ends With Us is brilliantly written, heavy, and heartaching. Nothing about the story or characters is as simple as the surface appears. Everything has a million more layers, each as raw, poetic, and painful as the last. Lily’s story will soothe your aching heart and rip it from your chest at the same time. It’s bold, brave, and beautiful.

Favorite quote: Just keep swimming.

Honorable mention: ANY Karin Slaughter book, specifically Will Trent books or Pretty Girls, Death Warrant by Bryan Johnston, Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate, Night Film by Marisha Pessl, My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante, any book by Cassandra Clare, Penelope Douglas, or Brandon Sanderson.

Leave a comment